A Flight of Broken Wings by Nupur Chowdhury

41464412

4 stars.

Thank you so much to the author for allowing me to review this book in exchange for an honest review.

This might not be as in depth as I originally wanted it to be, and I might add on once I have more time to do so. This probably won’t contain spoilers.

This book was interesting, and does a good job building up a fantasy world that is pretty believable. It doesn’t have a defined setting, in that of a date, so in my mind it kept dancing back and forth from this is a fantasy with a lean toward modern, or just modern that depended on the character. The characters themselves are pretty believable and strongly grounded into the world- which felt like some fantasy riff on India- , and I liked how they all worked in the plot even if the plot itself was relatively run of the mill for a fantasy- though the plot twists, those were nice. A few things happened that at least I didn’t see coming, I mean you might if fantasy with a lot of political maneuvering and complicated family ties and allegiances are your thing, but since I’m equal parts easily sidetracked and easily confused by such books, I usually get thrown off enough to not see the big twists coming up until they’re there. I also focus on all the tiny details for some reason, so yeah I’m generally good and lost. Lol.

This book is great if you like fantasy races, grounded fantasy worlds and complicated history. I loved the character of Ashwin and I really didn’t expect to, not at first. This author does a brilliant job tying up loose ends for all the subplots, as well as pulling all those subplots together with the main plot. I’d definitely read the rest in the series. A solid book and pretty entertaining read.

One thought on “A Flight of Broken Wings by Nupur Chowdhury

Leave a comment